North Kitsap, Klahowya sweep MVP honors for boys and girls All-Olympic League 2A, 1A basketball teams

North Kitsap’s Kobe McMillian and Noey Barreith earned MVP honors for the boys and girls All-Olympic League 2A teams on Tuesday.

In 1A, Klahowya’s Ella Koebelin, the standout sophomore guard, and guard Drew Kraft were awarded as respective MVPs.

McMillian, a senior shooting/point guard, was joined by four others teammates in receiving all-league honors. 

Named to the first team were Logan Chmielewski, a senior shooting forward, and Shaa Humphrey, a senior forward/guard.

Sophmore forward Jonas La Tour and senior guard Johny Olmsted made the second team.

Bremerton’s D’Angelo Moore was named first-team along with Port Angeles’ Gary Johnson III and Anton Kathol.

Miah Davis of Bremerton was named the 2A Coach of the Year and Bryan Thoemke of Klahowya was named the 1A Coach of the Year.

Klahowya’s Drew Kraft was named the OL 1A MVP as teammates Preston Roberts and Matt Hytinen were first-team.

Koebelin helped lead the Eagles to its first-ever district tournament, and win, this season. She was joined by senior guard Maile Lueck and junior Katie Cooper on the first team. First-year Eagles coach Chris Koebelin was named the Coach of the Year.

All-Olympic League 2A Boys

MVP: Kobe McMillian, North Kitsap

Coach of the Year: Miah Davis, Bremerton

First team: Gary Johnson III, Port Angeles; Shaa Humphrey, North Kitsap; Anton Kathol, Port Angeles; D’Angelo Moore, Bremerton.

Second team: Chase Cobb, Port Angeles; Damen Ringgold, Port Angeles; Jonas La Tour, North Kitsap; Erik Christiansen, Sequim, Johny Olmsted, North Kitsap.

All-Olympic League 2A Girls

MVP: Noey Barreith, North Kitsap

Coach of the Year: Mike Poindexter, Port Angeles

First team: Emilia Long, Port Angeles; Jaida Wood, Port Angeles; Jayla Julmist, Sequim; Hope Glasser, Sequim; Grace Johnson, North Kitsap; Eve Burke, Port Angeles.

Second team: Ellee Brockman, Kingston; Mikkiah Brady, Port Angeles; Mia McNair, North Kitsap; Kalli Wiker, Sequim; Sophie Green, North Mason.

Sportsmanship 1A/2A: Mia McNair, North Kitsap; Mikkiah Brady, Port Angeles; Elle Brockman, Kingston; Jayla Julmist, Sequim; Kaylani Riley, Olympic; Natalie Mathews, North Mason; Tulip Carter, Bremerton; Faye Berry, Port Townsend; Alia Parco, Klahowya; Katie Clark, Chimacum.

All-Olympic League 1A Boys

MVP: Drew Kraft, Klahowya

Coach of the Year: Bryan Thoemke, Klahowya

First team: Noa Montoya, Port Townsend; Presten Roberts, Klahowya; Lonnie Kenney, Port Townsend; Matt Hytinen, Klahowya; Aidan Petta, Port Townsend.

All-Olympic League 1A Girls

MVP: Ella Koebelin, Klahowya

Coach of the Year: Chris Koebelin, Klahowya

First team: Mackenzie Lake, Port Townsend; Izzy Hammett, Port Townsend; Maile Lueck, Klahowya; Katie Cooper, Klahowya; Katie Clark, Chimacum.

Sportsmanship 1A/2A: Miller Campbell, North Mason; Johny Olmsted, North Kitsap; Erik Christensen, Sequim; Cyrus Campbell, Klahowya; Ashton Trottman, Olympic; Damon Ringgold, Port Angeles; Kilo Lagova, Bremerton; Dalton Daly, Klahowya; Tanner Carstensen, Chimacum; Noa Montoya, Port Townsend.

In this article

Join the Conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.